Second powerful earthquake in a day off the coast of New Zealand

MOSCOW, 4 Mar – RIA Novosti. Another powerful 7.5 magnitude earthquake hit the coast of New Zealand, according to the United States Geological Survey (USGS).

The earthquake was recorded at 17.41 UTC (20.41 Moscow time). The epicenter of tremors was located 998 kilometers from the city of Whangarei. The outbreak was located at a depth of 55.6 kilometers.

Earlier it was reported that an earthquake with a magnitude of 7.3 occurred off the coast of New Zealand. It was recorded at 13.27 UTC (16.27 Moscow time). The epicenter of the tremors was located 238 kilometers from the city of Gisborne. The hearth lay at a depth of 10 kilometers.

After the earthquake, the tsunami warning was updated.

The American Tsunami Warning Center reports that destructive waves are possible within a radius of 300 kilometers from the epicenter of the earthquake.

Author: wedocount

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *