Slutsky called Lithuania's statements about “Sputnik V” Russophobic nonsense

MOSCOW, February 6 – RIA Novosti. Lithuanian Prime Minister Ingrida Shimonyte's words about Sputnik V as a hybrid weapon are discordant with the statements of EU diplomat Josep Borrell, they show annoyance and envy, Leonid Slutsky, head of the State Duma's international affairs committee, told RIA Novosti.

Earlier, Shimonyte on her Twitter called the Sputnik V coronavirus vaccine a “hybrid weapon” used by the Russian authorities to spread influence in the world. At the same time, the Lithuanian prime minister said that Russian President Vladimir Putin “does not want to use the vaccine to treat the population of Russia.” The spread of coronavirus

“Russophobic delirium, in which there is obvious annoyance and envy. The statements of the Lithuanian prime minister are openly discordant with the statements of the head of European diplomacy Borrel. Apparently, everything reaches Vilnius with a great delay,” Slutsky said.

The head of the committee noted that Russia is not going to fight with anyone, on the contrary, it is open to cooperation in combating the pandemic.

“There is a massive vaccination in our country. Allegations that the president does not want to use Sputnik V to treat the population is utter nonsense,” Slutsky added.

Earlier, Borrell expressed hope that the EU would be able to certify the Russian Sputnik V coronavirus vaccine.

In August, the Ministry of Health of Russia registered the world's first vaccine for the prevention of COVID-19, developed by the Gamaleya Research Center for Electrochemistry. It was named Sputnik V. The vaccine is based on a well-studied and validated human adenoviral vector platform, the important benefits of which are safety, efficacy, and no long-term adverse effects.

The use of the Sputnik V vaccine was previously approved in 21 countries: Russia, Belarus, Argentina, Bolivia, Serbia, Algeria, Palestine, Venezuela, Paraguay, Turkmenistan, Hungary, the United Arab Emirates, Iran, the Republic of Guinea, Tunisia, Armenia, Mexico, Nicaragua and Republika Srpska (entity of Bosnia and Herzegovina), Lebanon and Myanmar.

Author: wedocount

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *